Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson   Right Corner Banner

News > JBER honors community volunteers
JBER honors community volunteers

Posted 5/23/2012   Updated 5/23/2012 Email story   Print story


by PAO staff report

5/23/2012 - JOINT BASE ELMENDORF-RICHARDSON, Alaska -- JBER hosted its first joint volunteer recognition ceremony May 9 at the JBER-Richardson theater to thank those who give their time and talents to help others.

Volunteers were presented 280 Presidential Service Pins: 174 received bronze pins for volunteering 100 to 249 hours; 73 received silver pins for giving between 250 and 499 hours to the community; and 34 received gold pins for volunteering 500 or more hours during the previous year.

Volunteers were also recognized in several categories.

This year's winners were:

Air Force Excellence Award - David Delap and Lisa Whisenhunt
Air Force Angel Award - Mimi Elmore
Angel Family Award - the Whisenhunt family
Military Volunteer of the Year - Army Capt. Andre Randolph
Civilian Volunteer of the Year - Jennifer Vaughn
Youth Volunteer of the Year - Jachike Madubuko and Victoria Palasciano
Family Volunteer of the Year - the Palasciano family and the Piper family

The installation's 1,525 volunteers donated 111,314 hours - time valued at nearly $2.5 million - for programs like the JBER School Partnership program, Habitat for Humanity, Bean's Cafe & Outreach Center, Airmen Against Drunk Driving, Special Olympics, Big Brothers and Big Sisters, Soldiers Against Drunk Driving, Abused Women's Aid in Crisis, Better Opportunities for Single Service Members, the Alaska Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, the Alaska Military Youth Academy and others.

"The volunteer service program isn't just about saving money," said Air Force Col. Robert Evans, JBER and 673d Air Base Wing commander. "It's about coming together as people of the Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson community."

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside JBER

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act